Few transportation methods are more thrilling and evocative of a free-spirited lifestyle than riding a motorcycle. However, it is critical for all riders to be aware of all relevant laws and regulations to keep themselves and other riders safe.
Whether you are an experienced rider or a newcomer, understanding the rules regarding motorcycle licensing in Alabama will help you become a safer and more responsible rider.
Discover licensing requirements for riding a motorcycle in Alabama and how The Vance Law Firm Injury Lawyers can help if you’re injured by an irresponsible driver.
Until recently, Alabama did not require a motorcycle license or endorsement on a driver’s license to ride, only a standard driver’s license. However, in 2015, the state passed HB212, requiring motorcycle owners to obtain a Class M endorsement, also known as a Class M license, to ride their bikes on the state’s roads.
To obtain a Class M license in Alabama, you must meet that minimum age requirement and get your motorcycle license endorsement or learner’s permit by taking the appropriate classes. Before driving, you must also register your motorcycle with the state and obtain insurance that meets Alabama’s minimum liability requirements.
According to the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA), you must be at least 16 years old to obtain a Class M motorcycle endorsement, which enables you to ride both regular motorbikes and motor-driven cycles, such as mopeds or motorized scooters.
If you meet the minimum age requirements, you must pass two tests before obtaining your Class M endorsement:
After completing both steps, you will earn your Class M license. Although the state of Alabama does not require you to pass a safety course such as the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) Basic Rider Course or the Alabama Motorcycle Safety Program, doing so can provide you with the skills necessary to pass the tests.
Although it was once legal with a regular driver’s license, riding a motorbike in Alabama without a Class M license is now illegal. According to the Alabama Code (ALC 32-6-18), driving without a license is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $100 plus $50 in traffic fines. Repeated offenses may result in harsher punishments, such as vehicle impoundment, increased fines, or jail time.
Motorcycle riders in Alabama must follow the state’s universal motorcycle helmet law. Alabama Code (ALC 32-12-41) states it is mandatory for all riders, regardless of age (including those with a “B” restricted license), to wear a helmet with an approved design. The helmet must:
Visors are not legally required, but if your helmet has one, it must be flexible, shatter-proof, and feature a snap-on design.
At The Vance Law Firm Injury Lawyers, our team of dedicated Alabama motorcycle accident lawyers understands better than anyone else the dangers and prejudice riders face every day.
If you or a loved one has been injured in a motorcycle accident by a less careful or law-abiding driver, we can help.
Our attorneys will review the facts of your case and help you seek compensation for your injuries. We will negotiate for a fair settlement on your behalf to help you recover and get back to a normal life.
Contact us today for a free case review to get started on your motorcycle accident claim.